Sydney Taylor Book Award

The Sydney Taylor Book Award is presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience. Presented by the Association of Jewish Libraries since 1968, the award encourages the publication and widespread use of quality Judaic literature. Gold medals are presented in three categories: Younger Readers, Older Readers, and Teen Readers. Honor Books are awarded silver medals, and Notable Books are named in each category. To order gold or silver seals to place on your own copies of winning titles, please contact the Chair of the Sydney Taylor Book Award Committee, Diane Rauchwerger.

Debbie Levy and Elizabeth Baddeley, author and illustrator of I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her MarkAdam Gidwitz and Hatem Aly, author and illustrator of The Inquisitor's Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog, and Gavriel Savit, author of Anna and the Swallow Man, are the 2017 winners of the Sydney Taylor Book Award.

Read the full press release from January 2017.

See the complete list of Sydney Taylor award, honor, and notable books for 2017.The Committee recommends them for library, classroom, and home use.


Search for past winners: