AJL Member Spotlight

Find us on: Bookmark and Share

New Members Join the Sydney Taylor Book Award Committee

In January 2012, Aimee Lurie will be the new committee chair of the Sydney Taylor Book Award Committee. Aimee has over ten years experience as a librarian working with children and young adults in northeast Ohio. Currently, she is the librarian at The Anne Frank Library in for The Agnon School, a community day school in Beachwood, Ohio that serves children from preschool through 8th grade.   Aimee is active in the Association of Jewish Libraries Greater Cleveland Chapter and reviews books for the AJL national newsletter.  

New committee member include Charna Gross and Diane Rauchwerger. Charna has been a teacher since 1975, and a school librarian since 2000. A Los Angeles native, Charna is currently the school librarian at Sinai Akiba Academy. She has lived on three continents and speaks English, French and Spanish.  

Diane has been the librarian for Congregation Beth Am, Los Altos Hills, CA from 1990 to the present. She is the author of the Dinosaur series published by Kar-Ben Publishing (Dinosaur on Shabbat, Dinosaur on Hanukkah and Dinosaur on Passover.  Dinosaur Goes to Israel will be out this spring).

The committee is excited to welcome Diane and Charna!  

Other members of the committee include Debbie Feder, Barbara Krasner, Nancy Silverrod, Barbara Bietz (Past President) and Kathe Pinchuck (Compiler). The committee sends a hearty thank you to Heidi Estrin, Rachel Kamin, and Rita Soltan who completed their service this year.    


Wednesday, April 30, 2014 8:14 PM
What fun! Peter Brown made us laugh while we followed his creaitve process. I find illustrators thought process and creativity fascinating! What a great keynote for dinner, thanks ALSC.

Post Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below