AJL Jewish Fiction Award Submission Guidelines

AJL Jewish Fiction Award Submission Guidelines

 Submissions for the 2020 Association of Jewish Libraries Fiction Award are now being accepted.

 The criteria used to evaluate books for the Award are:

  • The book is a work of fiction with literary merit written for adult readers.
  • The book has significant Jewish thematic content related to Jews, Judaism, the Jewish experience and Israel. Works with little Jewish content (e.g. a peripheral character or two) will not be considered. The author of the work does not need to be of Jewish heritage.
  • Books submitted for the 2020 award must have a publication date of 2019. Reprints or reissues will not be considered. Additionally, books published only as e-books will not be considered. The book must be available for purchase in the United States.
  • Novels, short story and flash fiction collections by a single author are eligible. Anthologies and collections by multiple authors will not be considered.

There is no submission fee for this award. Authors or publishers may submit books for consideration. However, the committee requests that multiple shipments of the same book be avoided. In order to be considered, a review copy must be sent to each of the following Committee Members by December 1, 2019:

Rachel Kamin
1054 Holly Circle
Lake Zurich, IL 60047
Rosalind Reisner
263 West End Ave. 9E
New York, NY 10023

Advanced readers copies, digital copies, or finished books are all acceptable. Additional copies may be requested at the Committee’s discretion.

Winning authors or their designated representatives are expected to attend the Association of Jewish Libraries Conference in June 2020 to receive the award. Support will be extended to defray the winner’s travel and hotel costs. Only the winner of the award will be notified. Please do not contact the Committee to query the status of your submission. For more information visit www.jewishlibraries.org or contact ajljewishfictionaward@gmail.com

Yermiyahu Ahron Taub