"People of the Books" Blog

AJL 2020 DIGITAL CONFERENCE: Tuesday Announcements



  • We have a packed schedule of sessions on Tuesday featuring the Sydney Taylor Book Awards, the AJL Judaica Reference Award, the Judaica Bibliography Awards, and the AJL Fiction Award plus sessions on cataloging, collections and collecting. Be sure to refer to the Socio App or website for up-to-date information.  

  • Addition to the Program: Join the AJL Fiction Award Committee at 2:00 pm EDT to meet both Goldie Goldbloom, author of On Division, the 2020 AJL Fiction Award Winner, and Julie Orringer, author of The Flight Portfolio, the 2020 Honor Award Winner.  

  • The RAS and SSCPL Virtual Hospitality Suites were so popular on Monday that we’ve added them to the schedule for Tuesday and Wednesday at 5pmEDT.  Small groups can create a break-out room to discuss specific topics. Connect with colleagues on the Socio App and plan to meet in the Virtual Hospitality Suite.  This session won't be recorded, but the chat will be saved.

  • The recording of Monday’s Keynote Address with Adam Kirsch and Jonathan Kirsch, facilitated by Erika Dreifus, has been posted on Socio. You can find the link in the session on the Socio App or website along with notes from the conversation.  Other session recordings will be posted as they become available - please be patient as it will take some time.  

  • Thank you to the 2018-2020 AJL Board for all their hard work on behalf of our organization.  Special thanks to Amalia Warshenbrot and Ellen Share who are leaving the Board, but not AJL. We deeply appreciate their years of dedicated service as AJL leaders. During Monday’s General Membership meeting, the new 2020-2022 AJL Board was installed.  Please welcome the following incredibly talented group of individuals:

President – Kathy Bloomfield
Immediate Past President – Dina Herbert
First Vice President/President Elect – Michelle Chesner
VP for Membership - Sharon Benamou
VP for Development – Jackie Benefraim
Secretary – Eitan Kensky
Treasurer - Holly Zimmerman
RAS President – Amalia Levi
RAS Vice President – Anna Levia
SSCPL President – Sean Patrick Boyle
SSCPL Vice President - Emily Bergman

They will all be working hard to ensure that AJL continues to flourish over the next two years and beyond.



  • The International Librarians' Roundtable will begin at 8:00amEDT on Wednesday, July 1.  

  • If your Zoom name is something generic like "My iPad" please change it to your first and last name so we can see that you are a registered conference attendee. If you do not identify yourself, the hosts may not let you into the session from the Zoom “waiting room.”




AJL would like to thank our sponsors for the Tuesday sessions: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Jo Taylor Marshall,  Eric Chaim Kline, Dr. Greta Silver, EBSCOOCLCDan Wyman BooksOPALS/MediaFlexYale University PressPsik Books & Technologies Ltd.and School Library Journal. Also, be sure to visit our Sponsor Ads from our Socio website or App. 

Return to list