"People of the Books" Blog

AJL 2020 DIGITAL CONFERENCE: Final Announcements


  • 340 people participated in the AJL 2020 Digital Conference! From longtime AJL members to newcomers, presenters and award-winners, sponsors and guests - we’re so glad that you chose to spend your week with us!

  • While you can rate individual sessions on the Socio App, we also ask that you complete the Conference Evaluation.  Access it from the Socio website or App.  Your feedback is extremely important to us!

  • The Socio website and app will remain in place and you can continue to access the session recordings and handouts until it’s time for next year’s conference! The one exception is Lesléa Newman’s talk, “Maidels and Dreidels and Ladles, Oh My! The Journey of a Jewish Children’s Book Writer,” which will only be available until July 31, 2020.

  • More AJL Roundtables on Zoom will be scheduled throughout the summer and the rest of the year.  Check Hasafran and stay tuned for more details.  

  • Princeton Press has graciously extended the 50% off sale for Marcin Wodzinski's Historical Atlas of Hasidism to all AJL conference attendees. Visit their website and click the “buy this” button to add the book to your “cart.” At checkout enter the discount code AJL-FG and click “apply.” Princeton Press is also offering free shipping via UPS. Or, call 800-833-3324 during regular business hours and provide the discount code to get 50% off your order plus free shipping.

  • Kar-Ben’s FREE e-book program is available through September 30. These multi-user editions allow for unlimited simultaneous access by every student in your school or by any family member. Kids can access the digital bookshelf here; the username and password is karbenkids.

  • We had such a diverse and talented group of authors & illustrators participate in the AJL 2020 Conference!  27 of them shared their recent, new, and upcoming books for children, teens, and adults with us during the Author Open House.  Look for the list of participating authors, with their book titles and websites, in Socio. 

  • And the winners of the AJL Brain Bash Trivia Event were Sean Boyle, Annette Goldsmith, Susan Kusel, Arlene Ratzabi, Jasmin Shinohara, and Daniel Stuhlman of The July Jokers! They will each receive a gift certificate to purchase AJL swag from Zazzle. Thank you Jeremy Cahnmann for helping us to end the conference in such a fun way!  



  • A huge thanks to the 2020 Digital Conference Committee who dedicated countless hours over the past several months to pull everything together for this Conference: Lenore Bell, Jackie Ben-Efraim, Emily Bergman, Kathy Bloomfield, Michelle Chesner, Marcie Eskin, Elana Gensler, Dina Herbert, Rachel Kamin, Jerry Krautman, Rebecca Levitan, Heidi Rabinowitz, and Lisa Silverman.  This was an all-star team of volunteers!

  • Thank you to the 95+ presenters and moderators who shared their knowledge and expertise with AJL! We truly appreciate their flexibility and grace under difficult circumstances. Many swiftly changed their presentations to work on Zoom and several pulled together new presentations on short notice. Every session far exceeded expectations and was enthusiastically received by all of the attendees. 

  • Pivoting from an in-person to a digital conference in just a few short months was a remarkable achievement that would not have been possible without the members of the AJL20 AV Crew, coordinated by Heidi Rabinowitz, who stepped up to lend their time, energy, and willingness to learn new tech skills. Thank you to: Lenore Bell, Sharon Benamou, Jackie Ben Efraim, Emily Bergman, Kathy Bloomfield, Sean Boyle, Michelle Chesner, Erika Dreifus, Suzi Dubin , Taylor Dwyer, Annette Goldsmith, Haim Gottschalk, Toby Harris, Jacqueline Jules, Rachel Kamin, Robbin Katzin, Joy Kingsolver, Sonia Kozlovsky, Jerry Krautman, Rachel Leket-Mor, Amalia Levi, Joyce Levine, Rebecca Levitan, Elaine Mael, Susan Pankowsky, Arlene Ratzabi, Aviva Rosenberg, Sylvie Shaffer, Daniel Scheide, Amanda Seigel, Sheryl Stahl, Daniel Stuhlman, Aaron Taub, and Danielle Winter.


Thank you so much for being a part of the AJL 2020 Digital Conference!  We look forward to “Staying Connected” with you all year!

Marcie Eskin & Rachel Kamin, AJL 2020 Conference Co-Chairs
Lisa Silverman, AJL National Conference Chair
Kathy Bloomfield, AJL President
Dina Herbert, AJL Immediate Past President
and the entire AJL 2020 Digital Conference Planning Team

Return to list