AJL Jewish Fiction Award

The Association of Jewish Libraries Jewish Fiction Award was established in 2017 with generous underwriting from Dan Wyman Books.

All works of fiction with significant Jewish thematic content written in English--novels, short story and flash fiction collections--by a single author published and available for purchase in the United States during 2020 are eligible for the 2021 award. Jewish thematic content means an extended grappling with Jewish themes throughout the book, including Judaism, Jewish history and culture, Jewish identity, etc.

The award will include a $1,000 cash prize as well as support to attend the AJL conference to receive the award.

Please see the Submission Guidelines for further information.

2020 AJL Jewish Fiction Award Winner

See the Press release for the 2020 winner

Winner: On Division by Goldie Goldbloom (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Honor Book Winner: The Flight Portfolio by Julie Orringer (Knopf)

2019 AJL Jewish Fiction Award Winners

See the Press release for the 2019 winners

Winner: Memento Park by Mark Sarvas (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Honor Book Winner: The Cloister by James Carroll, (Nan Talese)

Honor Book Winner: The Fourth Corner of the World by Scott Nadelson (Engine Books)

2018 AJL Jewish Fiction Award Winners

See the Press release for the 2018 winners

Winner: The Weight of Ink by Rachel Kadish (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Honor Book Winner: Nine Folds Make a Paper Swan by Ruth Gilligan (Tin House Books)

Honor Book Winner: A Boy in Winter by Rachel Seiffert (Pantheon Books, part of the Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group)