Skip to content Skip to footer

Events Calendar

View our full calendar including events and board, council, and committee meetings.

AJL Canada Roundtable: Finding and Reading the Personal Narratives of Yiddish-Speaking Migrants to Canada, 1900-1930
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET / 8:30 pm Israel Time
 

In this presentation, doctoral candidate Vardit Lightstone will address the creative ways that migrants to Canada from 1900 to 1930 forged a new hybrid culture and identity, and how they express that in their life stories.

When Eastern European Jews migrated to Canada, they created a Canadian Eastern European Jewish culture and identity; by doing so, they expanded the international Yiddish map and Yiddish culture. Vardit has uncovered previously unknown memoirs and personal narratives by these migrants and will discuss how they tell the stories of their own lives, connecting their early lives and experiences in Eastern Europe to their lives and experiences in Canada.

Vardit Lightstone is a doctoral candidate in a Joint Education Placement Program between the University of Toronto and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Her research focuses on the life stories of Yiddish-speaking immigrants to Canada from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. In her research she interrogates both the folk literary genre of life stories and the ways migrants use folklore as they adapt to their new situations. 

This session is sponsored by AJL’s Canada Chapter and is open to all members of AJL. Members only.

Login to register.

AJL Capitol Area Chapter Presents: Sephardic Food and Music—From the Old World to America
Presentation by Susan Barocas and Sarah Aroeste
Sunday, May 22, 2022
4:00 pm PT / 7:00 pm ET

When the Jews of Spain, the Sephardim, fled the 15th-century Inquisition and Expulsion, they took with them a rich culture and cuisine through Europe, the Middle East, and to the Americas. The music and food were very rarely committed to writing by the original Sephardim, though much has been passed down through oral tradition and later written. Explore this fascinating journey of cultural identity and survival with two leaders of America’s Sephardic community, Sarah Aroeste and Susan Barocas. Ladino singer/songwriter, author, and activist Sarah Aroeste is committed to bringing awareness of Sephardic music and culture to audiences around the globe. With seven Ladino albums to her name and two Sephardic children’s books, Aroeste is credited for helping to revitalize a tradition for young and old. Writer, chef, and cooking instructor Susan Barocas is passionate about healthy, no-waste cooking and Jewish food, especially Sephardic history, cultures, and cuisines. Founding director of the Jewish Food Experience, she served as guest chef for three of President Obama’s White House seders.

This session is sponsored by AJL’s Capitol Area Chapter, with the support of AJL national, and is free and open to the public. Feel free to share widely!

Register at https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZMvcumqqjwpG91Xovq8xr5Ldg4guZX1ONHo

AJL Presents Salo Baron: Historian of the Jews and Champion of Libraries
Monday, May 23, 2022
10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm Israel Time

Much has been written about the academic legacy of Salo Baron as a result of his scholarship and research. A recent book from Columbia University Press broadens our perspective of his legacy, by reflecting on the role he played in reshaping Jewish studies in the United States from his perch in Morningside Heights. Collecting articles from numerous scholars to mark the 90th anniversary of Baron’s arrival at Columbia University, this book features analysis of his impact as a public intellectual, the creator of the first academic center to study Israel, and champion of libraries. Rebecca Kobrin and Michelle Chesner will discuss the recent book and how it informs Baron’s important impact on Columbia University and the world.

Rebecca Kobrin is the Russell and Bettina Knapp Associate Professor of American Jewish History at Columbia University, where she is also co-director of Columbia’s Institute for Israel and Jewish Studies. Her book Jewish Bialystok and Its Diaspora (2010) was awarded the Jordan Schnitzer prize. She is the editor of Chosen Capital: The Jewish Encounter with American Capitalism (2012) and is coeditor with Adam Teller of Purchasing Power: The Economics of Jewish History (2015). Her forthcoming book, A Credit to the Nation: East European Immigrant Bankers and American Finance, 1870–1930, will be published by Harvard University Press.

This session is sponsored by AJL’s RAS Division and is open to members and the public. All are welcome.

Register at https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcvde2hqjgoE93PhaJ39fOgVk3Qk3nOrTIG

AJL Roundtable: Cataloging Forum on Genre Terms and Form Headings
Tuesday May 26, 2022
9:00am PT / 12:00pm ET / 7:00pm  Israel Time

This session on genre terms and form headings will be led by Dorie Kurtz of the Library of Congress.

This session is sponsored by AJL’s RAS division and is for AJL members only. All members are welcome.

Login in register.

AJL Presents: Books About Books
The Pains, Pitfalls, and Pleasures of Genizah Provenance Research
Thursday, June 9, 2022
9:30 am PT / 12:30 pm ET / 7:30 pm Israel Time

This talk will look at some examples of the provenance-tracing efforts that went into the book The Cairo Genizah and the Age of Discovery in Egypt. It will discuss the methods and challenges of tracing ownership; the pitfalls and roadblocks caused by hidden, missing, or conflicting evidence; and the pleasures of discovering lost or underexplored connections.

Rebecca J. W. Jefferson is the curator of the Isser and Rae Price Library of Judaica at the University of Florida and a joint faculty member of the Center for Jewish Studies. She received her PhD in medieval Hebrew from the University of Cambridge and worked as a bibliographer in the Taylor-Schechter Genizah Research Unit prior to moving to the U.S. She has produced numerous articles on the history and provenance of the Cairo Genizah collections. Her book, The Cairo Genizah and the Age of Discovery in Egypt: the History and Provenance of a Jewish Archive (I. B. Tauris), was published in February 2022.

This session is sponsored by AJL’s RAS Division and is open to members and the public. All are welcome.

Register at https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0rfu6rpjwsGdXp9-L6P-EAIZ6S-quBGGkR