Skip to content Skip to footer

Fanny Goldstein Merit Award

Fanny Goldstein Merit Award

With the advice of the AJL Board and Council, the Fanny Goldstein Merit Award Committee selects AJL members to be honored at the annual conference.

The Fanny Goldstein Merit Award, named for the librarian, social activist and founder of National Jewish Book Month, is bestowed in recognition of loyal and ongoing contributions to the Association and to the profession of Jewish librarianship.

Born on May 15, 1895 [some sources say 1888], Fanny Goldstein devoted her life to books and community. She was the first female Judaica librarian and the first woman to direct a branch library in Massachusetts, where she was head of Boston’s West End Branch for many years. A prominent figure in the Boston Jewish community, she is best known as the founder of Jewish Book Week, which began when Goldstein organized a display of Jewish books at the Boston Public Library in 1925.

2022Lisa Silverman
2021Rachel Kamin
2020Zachary Baker
2019 Elliot H. Gertel
2018 James Rosenbloom
2016 Heidi Rabinowitz Estrin
2015 Joy Kingsolver
2013 Amalia Warshenbrot
2012 Sylvia Firschein (deseased)
2011 Etta D. Gold
2010 Ronda Rose
2009 No award given
2008 Fred Isaac
2007 Ellen G. Cole
2006 No award given
2005 Libby K. White
2004 Linda R. Silver
2003 Cheryl Banks, Nancy Sack
2002 Joseph Galron
2001 Susan Dubin
2000 Frances Wolf
1995 Sylvia Avner (deceased), Lillian Schwartz
1994 Adaire J. Klein
1993 Edith Lubetski
1992 Bella Hass Weinberg, Marcia Posner, Irene Levin-Wixman (deceased), Hazel Karp, Barbara Y. Leff