Skip to content Skip to footer

Member Awards

AJL offers a number of awards to members for merit in the profession, and for support to attend our conference.


Fanny Goldstein Merit Award

The Fanny Goldstein Merit Award, named for the librarian, social activist and founder of National Jewish Book Month, is bestowed in recognition of loyal and ongoing contributions to the Association and to the profession of Jewish librarianship. 

KarBen Award

The KarBen Scholarship, funded by Kar-Ben Publishing in honor of founders Judye Groner and Madeline Wikler, awards a scholarship for AJL conference attendance to an AJL member who demonstrates dedication to Jewish children’s literature and library services. Current membership and full conference registration are required.


Judy R. Cohn Conference Support
Named for long-time AJL member and Southern California Chapter President (2006-2012), the Judy R. Cohn Conference Support Fund assists AJL members with the expense of attending AJL’s annual conferences. Support is based on financial need, weighted toward applicants with involvement in AJL. 

EBSCO Scholarship for AJL Conference Attendance 
EBSCO Information Services provides funding annually to subsidize conference expenses for first time attendees and current students or recent (within two years) graduates of programs related to the work of AJL (library and information science, Judaic or Hebrew studies, etc). Scholarship is based on financial need. Current membership and full conference registration are required. 

Rothschild Foundation Hanadiv Europe
Funds have been made available by the Rothschild Foundation Hanadiv Europe to support conference attendance by European Judaica librarians.  Applicants are expected to participate actively in the conference (e.g., presenting, planning programs), and will be asked to report on their conference activities. Applicants seeking support should indicate their eligibility on the application form.