Skip to content Skip to footer

Members Only Events

AJL Canada Roundtable: Finding and Reading the Personal Narratives of Yiddish-Speaking Migrants to Canada, 1900-1930
Wednesday, May 18, 2022

10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET / 8:30 pm Israel Time

In this presentation, doctoral candidate Vardit Lightstone will address the creative ways that migrants to Canada from 1900 to 1930 forged a new hybrid culture and identity, and how they express that in their life stories.

When Eastern European Jews migrated to Canada, they created a Canadian Eastern European Jewish culture and identity; by doing so, they expanded the international Yiddish map and Yiddish culture. Vardit has uncovered previously unknown memoirs and personal narratives by these migrants and will discuss how they tell the stories of their own lives, connecting their early lives and experiences in Eastern Europe to their lives and experiences in Canada.

Vardit Lightstone is a doctoral candidate in a Joint Education Placement Program between the University of Toronto and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Her research focuses on the life stories of Yiddish-speaking immigrants to Canada from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. In her research she interrogates both the folk literary genre of life stories and the ways migrants use folklore as they adapt to their new situations. 

This session is sponsored by AJL’s Canada Chapter and is open to all members of AJL. Members only.

Register at https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZMkfu2vqTgsHtdDyrCO3mRasdCM6hdsDbGI

S

AJL Roundtable: Cataloging Forum on Genre Terms and Form Headings
Tuesday May 26, 2022
9:00am PT / 12:00pm ET / 7:00pm  Israel Time

This session on genre terms and form headings will be led by Dorie Kurtz of the Library of Congress.

This session is sponsored by AJL’s RAS division and is for AJL members only. All members are welcome.

Register at https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZAkcOiuqDwoGd1qeh14qLdG_oeSkSWh5vF